I Resolve…

If you aren't old or a biker, Eureka Springs Walmart may be your only choice...

So, the first decade of the new millennium has come to an end. That’s wild. Ten years ago we were all afraid the world would explode with Y2K and now we’re afraid the world will explode because of a powder keg in a crazy man’s underwear. What a decade.


As I stand on the precipice of a new decade, I realize that if I continue on my present course, I’ll have nothing to show for myself by 2020.  So, I’ve decided to actually make some New Year’s Resolutions. I usually resolve to not resolve and that’s mostly because I’m too lazy to think about it. Or too afraid of failure to throw them out there. So here it is. I share them with you in hopes that you will share your own, or hold me to mine and call me on my s#!+.

My laundry list of things I’d like to accomplish, overcome, own, rule over like a boss, etc., in 2010:

Traditional
  • Work out at least four times a week
  • Eat in at least five times a week
  • Put money in my savings account AND keep it there
  • Pray more regularly
  • Be in bed between 11:00-11:30pm on weeknights
  • Be on time to work

Things to make me feel like I’ve done something productive
  • Blog every week
  • Finish a book
  • Keep up with current news and events
  • Learn something new every day… that’s right, I said every DAY…
  • Study for the GRE
  • Keep the house clean
  • Conquer a fear
  • Act, Improv, Act, Improv, Produce, Direct, Act, Improv

Things to keep me sane
  • Don’t take on other people’s problems as my own (sometimes I just can’t help)
  • Cultivate the friendships that bring me joy by keeping in touch, even just to say, “hi”
  • Remember the kind of person I want to be, the qualities I want to possess and if I feel myself slipping, stop immediately and regroup
  • Make more time for Eddy
  • Remember that sometimes I need to keep my ears open and my mouth shut
  • Remember what’s really important to me, what’s real and what’s bulls#!+

Yes. This is a huge list. I agree. But I’ve been thinking a long time about this. And I figure if I’m successful with even half this list, next year’s won’t be nearly as long.

Wish me luck,
Cristela

Leave a comment